AMINU

By NEDY BLESSING

At the sound of his voice

I wondered if what I heard

Was the truth

The rustic Hausa accent

He possessed not

His soft efficient English

Arrested and teased my attention

His broad shoulders I imagined

Oh, how a lady look on them leaned

A true African soldier he is

His brown silk smooth skin

And the untold promises

Of his splashy eyes

Like a steady train

Ran heavily on my mind’s rail

My horns I suppressed

For Aminu I can never have

Wishing for him even, criminal

Oh Aminu! A story you’ll always be

For you are my husband’s best friend!

Aminu

Nedy lives in Port Harcourt, studies in Owerri and prays constantly for her friends

 

8 thoughts on “AMINU

WE ARE BURNING TO HEAR WHAT YOU'VE GOT TO SAY

