SHOT BY AN ARCHER

By FRANCIS WAAPERA

An archer shot at me

Shot me straight in the navel

Adrift lazy clouds and misty thoughts

Where facts fuse with feelings

 

An archer shot at me

I’m no stranger to terror

But this—this from the quiver of a keen craftsman

Taut and thorough

Tore through my silver shield

Ripping apartb my armour

 

Never same again

Having tasted the finery of fury

Wanton wails wheel through my tendons
like sleeping coals on bawling billows

Oh, the pleasure of pain

I wear my scar like a warrior’s medal

Where I was shot

Shot by an archer!

##Francis is a graduate of English Language in the largest University in Black Africa, a prayerful Christian and a motivator of youths

Image

4 thoughts on “SHOT BY AN ARCHER

WE ARE BURNING TO HEAR WHAT YOU'VE GOT TO SAY

