2017 Mid-Term Report: So Far So Far

Sigh. 2017 has blasted six months. It is half-past 2017. Six months to go. In January, I wrote 40-something things I wish to achieve this year, or stop doing. For instance, I set a goal of making one billion naira by December; well, I haven’t done so badly, it’s just remaining 999 million, 990 something thousand naira. No, I haven’t done bad. I also promised to stop abusing politicians. Well, although, I still think that Rochas is an impersonator of reality who should be made to carry a keg of palm oil with his ‘my people, my people’ head and made to trek from Owerri to Okigwe with a bag of warm pure water to aid him. But I don’t say this aloud, I am a changed man!

2017, how far? So far.

I woke up this morning and I couldn’t find my legs. When I found them, I couldn’t move them. Well, I tried moving them, they wouldn’t budge. Good God, what has happened to my legs, my legs? I pushed hard and my bag fell off the bed. I had placed the bag on the bed in order to pick the clothes for my journey to the village to start the talk over my marriage to the policewoman I love, and I fell asleep mid-picking and now the bag stood in the space for my legs.

I am grateful to God for two healthy legs.  I might not be rich, hunger might have made me abuse you on Whatsapp, but if Nigeria is invaded by aliens tomorrow, I am surely going to outrun you and 170 million people. What would it profit you to have the whole world and end up in the belly of a vampire?

Bad as it is, I have done some good. I have a few achievements this year so far.

1, I met a policewoman

She is tall, slim, chocolate, with full hips, flat tummy, well-formed br… in short, believe me, she is beautiful. Plus those arresting lips. Plus she has a sense of humour; a great conversationist, a compassionate listener who can cook, pray for more than one hour, and does not eat pizza more than once a week. What else do you want from a lady? I have picked my marriage date, November 2019. Save the date. And stop laughing, idiot.

‘Mr Kingsley, would you accept this handcuff as a token of the love of your Queen, to be handcuffed and beloved, till death do you part?’ ‘Why not?’

2, I still polish my shoes.

What is the big deal you ask? Nothing. Just that if you go into any kiosk or shop or mall, whatever, and ask how much kiwi polish costs, you would appreciate the fact that I still polish my shoes daily. And mind you, half of the people in Nigeria use grind charcoal and the other half wear Aba made Converse.

3, I wrote a small ebook.

37 Ways to Survive Nigeria. The book is expected out this July but I am angry. Some group of half-educated, poorly educated, socially handicapped, mentally crippled yoots in the North threatened to ‘mop-up’ my people if they don’t leave ‘their’ land by October 1st. I would not release the ebook until after my anger over the ‘quit notice’ from the aspiring looters.

Does it mean I am taking their words seriously? I am. But I am more angry with the politicians who refused to arrest the criminals and jail them, or even seriously condemn them. This Nigeria doesn’t deserve my book. Not now, maybe never.

But I wrote a book this year. Ihuuuuuuuuuuuu!

4, I am still friends with my landlord.

My landlord drives me crazy. I don’t smoke weed, I don’t carry women except for one of my church members who sometimes visit Brother Kingsley (half of the compound smoke weed and the other half carry a variety of women who are not their church members). I don’t come back in the middle of the night to knock on the gate; I don’t play music in deafening decibels; I come out for monthly sanitation. I am an ideal tenant.

But no, the man won’t let me be. Whenever he sees me he would pluck a bill from the air and ask me to pay. Nepa bill, security, grass-cutting bill, suck away pit packing bill etc. How many times did I shit in this house, yet I am expected to pay for suck-away evacuation? This is injustice!

And he has a way of giving unsolicited advice and turning up like a ghost without a funeral when you want to mind your business the most. I am tired.

But we are still friends, wow!

5, I am not owing anybody.

Since I left the university I had had the fortune (insert good or bad) of working where my allowance/salaries do not exceed the 15th of the month. Which meant, I usually had cause to borrow before the end of the month. But this year I have not borrowed anything except if you wish to count the time I collected lighter from my neigbour . Even if I did borrow something tangible, you won’t know. The person that would come to the comment box to say he lent me anything, that person should just write his will because I have connections with Italian Mafian special cross-country snippers. Hehe, or,  better still,  I would chew you alive, swallow you and vomit you out whole.

And I am not owing anyone except, of course, one or two girls I owe pension. And this pension, I am not the only one owing. The Federal Government owes pension. State governments owe pension. I owe pension, no big deal. You are free to abuse me on the comment box.

6, I have conquered coke.

Yes, I used to drink coke nearly every day, sometimes twice or even thrice a day. No, I am not moved by the bullshit about seven cubes of sugar and coke will kill your sperm or give you diabetes nonsense. But I hate addiction and every form of it. I hate being in a position of craving for anything. Obsession annoys me, makes me feel like a slave, belittles me and insult my intellect; so I put a giant full-stop on coke.

I went a day without coke, I survived.

I went a week without coke, I survived.

Went a month, I survived.

Now I take coke occasionally which is twice or thrice a week. And this last month, I took more Pepsi than coke so what are you talking? I defeated coke in victory.

And having disarmed the powers and authorities of coca-cola, I made a public show of coke. Where O coke is thy sting? I am free. God has broken the power of soda in my life. Praise the Lord.

7, I have two working legs

Whatever happens, I am so glad to have my two bony legs intact!

Pass me the bottle.

Tweet me on @oke4chukwu. If you wish to abuse me privately, use teamokechukwu@gmail.com

load

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “2017 Mid-Term Report: So Far So Far

  1. Onyeka

    Waking up to this on the first day of the second session of the year can’t be any better. I thought you do wear this stone-cold look at all times, how on earth does your landlord frown when your sister(s) come calling? O makwa ife a n’akpo fellowship? Nice piece bro

    Like

  2. Saint Gab

    We must come to eat rice and meat at the wedding between you and the policewoman… Stop owing your ex(es) pension before the policewoman will turn to another ex.

    Like

    • HARD VOICES

      My wedding will be in Dubai (get your visa and airfare ready); no rice–just buns and Pepsi. I will pay my pension when Rochas pays his. And don’t let the devil use you, my Seargent will never be an ex

      Like

WE ARE BURNING TO HEAR WHAT YOU'VE GOT TO SAY

